Suprsend identifies Users by unique identifier
distinct_id. The identifier for a user is important as we use this key to create a user profile and all the information related to a user, like channel preferences, is attached to that profile. It's best to send the users
distinct_id from your database to map it across different devices and platforms. You can view the user profile by searching
distinct_id on the Subscribers page in SuprSend Dashboard.
Please note: You cannot change a user's ID once it has been set, so we recommend you use a non-transient ID like a primary key rather than a phone number or email address.
You can identify a user using the
Call this method as soon as you know the identity of a user, that is after login authentication. If you don't call this method, the user will be identified using distinct_id (UUID) that SDK generates internally.
When you call this method, we internally create an event called $user_login. You can see this event on the SuprSend workflows event list and you can configure a workflow on it.
SuprSend.shared.identify(identity: distinct_id) //Example SuprSend.shared.identify(identity: "291XXXXX-62XX-4dXX-b2XX"); SuprSend.shared.identify(identity: "[email protected]");
|distinct_id||int, bigint, string, UUID||mandatory|
Unique identifier for a user across devices or between multiple logins.
As soon as the user logs out, call
SuprSend.shared.reset() method to clear data attributed to a user. This will generate a new random
distinct_id and clear all super properties. This allows you to handle multiple users on a single device.
When you call this method, we internally create an event called $user_logout. You can see this event on the SuprSend workflows event list and you can configure a workflow on it.
SuprSend.shared.reset(unsubscribeNotification: true) // unsubscribeNotification flag is needed to be set true so that push token will be detatched from user after logout
Mandatory to call reset on logout
Don't forget to call reset on user logout. If not called, user id will not reset and multiple tokens and channels will get added to the user_id who logged in first on the device.
Updated 3 days ago